Morning in Springdale

Woke to this beautiful morning view from my balcony but unfortunately cannot capture the right colors with my point-and-shoot. I tried every exposure setting, every ISO setting and still it just won’t get the colors right.  Maybe I can fix with Photoshop when I get home but I doubt it.

I’m sitting outside in my skivvies (don’t want to wake the family looking for clothes) and it is pretty cold, and the Mexican guy cleaning the pool is ashamed for me.

Zion National Park is one of my favorites places on earth (not that I’ve done much traveling) and I am glad to live just a couple of hours away. The first Mormon settlers named it Zion after Jerusalem because it seemed like a place of refuge from the harsh land around. I understand that feeling; there is a certain sense of peace and security when inside those canyon walls.

Well, I’m finding that my brain is none to pleased to be put to work without coffee so I will get right on that.  Enjoy my view in the meantime.

4 responses to “Morning in Springdale

  1. And still, it’s breathtaking. I can only imagine what it must be like to see it in person. Thank you for sharing!

  2. What a place to be! I love your writing combining talk of natural beauty with the man’s shame for you. Thank you for sharing this pic. 🙂

  3. Magestic! I’m seeing a very vivid blue sky, maybe the extra colors you are seeing are just for you. A gift from the mountians. Enjoy your time here to the fullest. Thank you for sharing this wonderful place. 🙂
    Joanne

  4. Okay, so right after post this reply, I’m looking up where, exactly, Zion Park is. It looks gorgeous. I agree with Joanne. Appreciate you’re sharing. : )

Leave a Reply

