Unbelievable Leftovers

Before you yawn and move on, please hear me out!

A half an hour before I left for work yesterday, my wife said she was in the mood for some Yum Woonsen. Because I knew we had all the ingredients to make it, I told her I would prepare the base and she could mix it together right before I arrived home from work. Well, I went a little overboard and prepared too much of certain ingredients, so we had some perishable items leftover such as stock, as well as the cilantro and limes. I wanted our lunch today to use these ingredients so as I prepared to make some kind of stir-fry noodle dish, I took a left turn and decided to try improve on a paella experiment I recently conducted, the Thai-style paella.
I’ve never liked the term fusion applied to music or food, but ironically do engage in the fusion in both hobbies.

I didn’t keep track of measurements so this won’t quite be a recipe. The only strict measurement that must be followed is the 2:1 measurement of liquid to rice.

Here’s what I did:
I had about 1 1/2 cups of shrimp stock (made with shells, onion, garlic, bay leaf, and celery).

In a pan I fried up diced red pepper, shallots about a half pound of scallops and a third pound of ground chicken, all leftovers. I had some dried mushrooms so I added those (shittake, oyster, lobster and woodear)

I took the stock and added Thai fish sauce and lime juice and water until I had 2 cups of liquid.

Once the chicken and scallops were browned, I added the liquid as well as some saffron and shredded coconut. (Coconut milk would have been better, but I didn’t have any). When this liquid came to a boil I added Calrose rice.

Reduce heat and cook for about 30 minutes, turning the pan around to make sure it cooks evenly. About halfway through, I added chopped cilantro to the top. When I serve it, I will squeeze lime juice over top.

I’ve had so much fun cooking the last couple of days! My first key lime pie came out so great. I need to give it away lest I eat the whole thing.

 

2 responses to “Unbelievable Leftovers

  1. Miguel! This is quite impressive. : )

Leave a Reply

